Latest Posts

How many movies are in the Mortal Kombat film series?

Mortal Kombat is an American martial arts action movie franchise based on the Midway Games fighting video game series of the same name. Lawrence Kasanoff’s Threshold Entertainment produced the first picture.

Mortal Kombat, the first film, was released in 1995, and Mortal Kombat: Annihilation, the sequel, was released in 1997. Following the release of the two films, gaming producer Midway declared bankruptcy. After becoming the parent company of New Line Cinema in 2008 (after operating as distinct companies of Time Warner for over a decade), Warner Bros. made an offer to buy most of Midway’s assets, including Mortal Kombat. Kasanoff and Threshold sued in bankruptcy court in June 2009, claiming ownership of the copyright to many of the series’ characters.

The bankruptcy court approved the sale of the majority of Midway’s assets to Warner Bros. on July 1, 2009, subject to Threshold Entertainment’s intellectual property claims. A relaunch of the series was launched in April 2021, after years of development hell.

Mortal Kombat movie

There are three films in Mortal Kombat namely- Mortal Kombat (1995), Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (1997), and Mortal Kombat (2021). Three obscure martial artists are invited to a strange island for a tournament whose conclusion will determine the world’s fate. 

Only six days remain for a group of martial arts warriors to preserve the Earth from an extra-dimensional invasion. Cole Young, a retired mixed martial artist, has no idea about his hidden ancestry or why assassin Sub Zero is after him. Concerned for his family’s safety, he seeks out a group of fighters chosen to defend Earthrealm from Outworld.

Also READ: What is Samuel L Jackson’s most famous movie?

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.